The Anguish.

Visual Assignment: Make The Untranslatable Understood

Use the Random Words with No English Translation tool (http://lab.cogdogblog.com/nowords/) to generate a word that could be better understood with a photo or image. Find a creative commons image or make your own, and include the word somehow in the image (using a desktop photo editor or web tool like Aviary or PicNIk). Then share it with someone and ask if it makes sense.

anguished soul :p by kelsey_lovefusionphoto – CC Licensed via Flickr

 

 

This is my third DS106 assignment for the section. The image looks quite plain without any extra captions and effects, but I wanted it that way. I hope people can kind of guess what the word “toska” means by just looking at the image.

Toska – “At its deepest and most painful, it is a sensation of great spiritual anguish, often without any specific cause. At less morbid levels it is a dull ache of the soul, a longing with nothing to long for, a sick pining, a vague restlessness, mental throes, yearning”

Before I restarted the assignment, I already had another image half done waiting in my CIS folder. That was suppose to be used, but I suddenly felt the desire to manipulate another photo instead for this assignment. It’s obvious that I haven’t spent too much time on this piece compared to the other posts I’ve done. I thought a messy complicated composition wouldn’t fit the picture, and therefore, the image was kept simple. The process was just about doing the glowing effects around the text to give a cold, but burning impression.

Everybody has the moments of anguish at certain times of their life. I often feel restless inside without a clear answer to why I feel like it. Sometimes you can’t really find the specific reason for feeling so disturbed. Even so, I think there are external and internal causes for feeling “toska”. We all live under pressure; the good and bad stress come into us at once. I imagine, that the same spiritual anguish must be lurking in the depths of every soul.

By the way, I fixed the tagline for this blog. I misspelled the word “newbie” incorrectly…!

2 thoughts on “The Anguish.

  1. I think the simplicity of the design is it’s strength. Clutter doesn’t necessarily equate quality afterall!

    You might want to remember to link back to the original assignment. I’m interested in checking it out!

Leave a Reply

