Mashup: Children’s Book and The Pioneer

The Mad Tea Party.

Mashup Assignments: Mashedup Children’s Book

Mashup a children’s book based on another cultural artifact. For example, framing Dr. Who as a children’s book in the aesthetic of a Dr. Suess’s work. See example from College Humor here: http://www.collegehumor.com/article:181140

Since Scott asked us to have more variety of categories for our DS106, I wanted to do something in another category I still haven’t tried. A past blog post from the previous semester inspired to me to try this assignment. I think this assignment can also be under the design section.

How are people doing with their presentation preparation? Mid-term has started and we’re all having a hectic week. I’m suppose to be busy too, and I somehow spent a hour or two the other day just to search the right picture for this assignment. It’s my bad habit to go headlong at whatever I decided to do.  First off, I couldn’t find the desirable CC-licensed image of children’s books. I could immediately think of some well-known books and I had plenty of ideas. “The Snowman” was one I wanted to use, but that plan had to be put away. Instead, I found an gif animation of the famous tea party scene from Lewis Caroll’s “Alice in Wonderland” which I replaced The Mad Hatter’s face with Engelbart’s.

Can you believe it? I’m still writing about a Pioneer after finishing the first section. A light bulb went off in my head when I saw the dormouse. I made a little association with the Pioneer and the mouse (dormouse – mouse – computer mouse…Engelbart?).

The creative process of this assignment became somewhat difficult, because I had taken a gif animation and played around with it. Although you can’t really tell Alice is actually holding a x-ray-ed computer mouse, which the sparkle erased from the image. Check out the twinkly animation version of the Tea Party on Flickr. I wish I had the animation working on here too…I don’t consider this piece as one of my best works.

* I just realized now that I was goofing around checking out some dormouse pictures and videos (they’re too adorable to avoid). No wonder I took more time than I expected to complete this assignment.

4 thoughts on “Mashup: Children’s Book and The Pioneer

  1. Good stuff. I love the way you worked Engelbart in to this – he does look perfect under the hat with the profile picture you came up. Nice job in making the dormouse (inventer of the mouse) connection. I don’t think I’d have come up with that.

    I’m also excited that you found one of the great posts from last semester for inspiration.

    • It’s kind of funny how Engelbart is still stuck in my mind after a while. I had to take a look at some examples by students and surprisingly, the only post for the assignment was from last semester. I wish I could comment on the post I got the inspiration from…I remember I went to the Eric Carle (the Hungry Caterpillar author) exhibition a few years ago.

    • Thanks Clio! No, I didn’t edit the hat. It says “10/6” and that’s suppose to be a price in older English money (according to the FAQhere). I didn’t notice, but it does look like it says 106…cool.

Leave a Reply

