Being poetic.

Haiku – A Japanese 3-Line Poem.

“Haiku it up!” is a writing assignment that asks you to compose a haiku using a random dailyshoot photo.

I was born and raised in Japan, however, I never really had the chance to receive a formal Japanese education. In course of Japanese education, I’m certain that children would work with haiku in class. I had the opportunity to learn and compose haiku back in high school when I took advanced Japanese courses.

It’s sort of funny that I was taught to remember the American Constitution, government system, and history, and not much about the Japan. Everything I learned in elementary to secondary was based on American system of education, so I had no clue what to do when I had to write a paper on Japanese legislation. Me and my fellow classmates had a hard time to do some assignments. Though, we also did fun activities like composing haiku.

The instruction for the assignment misses out some rules for haiku such as use of 季語 (seasonal word), but this is not any formal language course or anything. I didn’t add any seasonal word, although, it is important to have it in most cases. Seasonal words become the image of the haiku.

So here we go:

Don’t hold on to now.
Lost time’s never found again,
so govern the clock.

holding on

5 thoughts on “Being poetic.

  1. Nice haiku and picture!!
    I don’t know much about Japan either. It’s kind of weird being a Japanese but not knowing about your country much, isn’t it?

    • Thanks. Well, I trained myself to write kanji and read many publications during my childhood including historical texts. I’m subscribed to a Japanese newspaper now.
      I don’t feel completely lost in society, but there are many situations where I somehow feel foreign in this country. It’s certainly embarrassing to not know some things you ought to know as a Japanese resident…

  2. This is brilliant on subtle and varied levels. It’s all about time and not holding on to time. Hands hold on to stuff. Hands are also parts of a clock.

    The hands in picture are holding on to the hole in the box and yet they also look somewhat like the clock the haiku tells us to govern.

    I really like what you’ve come up with for this assignment.

    • Thank you. I didn’t consider the space the child’s hands hold on to to look like the clock. I’m not sure how I came up with the idea of TIME, but I knew what I would like to write as soon as I saw the image on Flickr. This semester is ending very soon, and spring has come. The haiku is a message for all of us who is going to lead a new life.

Leave a Reply

